Print Page | Contact Us | Contact Webmaster | Sign In | Register
ICI Smart: November 2015
Share |

To view this email as a web page, click here.

Independent Colleges Indiana

the indiana academy

Meet the Class of 2015

At the Indiana Academy’s 45th annual symposium in late October, one of the honorees for lifetime achievement and contribution to Indiana and its private colleges and students said the power of higher education, especially the kind found at Indiana’s 31 private colleges, had been imprinted on her from birth by her family. This transformational power was a recurring theme from all the inductees, who expressed not only the personal significance of their relationships with ICI colleges but also the larger significance of ICI colleges in the lives of all Hoosiers. 

Here are our newest Academy members (pictured left to right below):

  • D. Anthony “Tony” Watt (Fishers), retired Chrysler Corporation plant manager and avid supporter of education and youth programs at all levels, began his 35-year career at Chrysler as an hourly worker while attending and then graduating from Marian University (then College). Currently a member of the Marian Board of Trustees, he played a pivotal role in addressing and resolving challenges faced by the university in the 1990s, even serving for a time as interim president. 
  • Rose Mays (Indianapolis) recently retired as professor emeritus from the Indiana University of Nursing after 36 years of service. She devoted her career to improving quality of life for vulnerable adolescents through research and professional service focused on health promotion and disease prevention. She serves on the board at the University of Evansville, her alma mater, and remains active in various education, health, and social service organizations.
  • Carmi Murphy (South Bend) upholds a strong family legacy of community leadership and dedication to private higher education. She has worked to ensure strong social safety nets, arts and culture, healthcare and education in South Bend. Her focus in higher education has been Saint Mary’s College, serving on its board for 15 years and the leadership team of its recent successful $100M capital campaign. She has been named a Saint Mary honorary alumna, only the second in the college's history.
  • Jeanne Mirro (Fort Wayne) leverages her talents to promote healthcare research, education, and the arts. She and her husband were instrumental in the building of the Mirro Center for Research and Innovation on the Parkview Hospital campus. President of the Mirro Family Foundation and a past chair of the Indiana Arts Commission, she has served as a board member for the University of Saint Francis since 2003 and Fort Wayne Ballet since 2011, for which she currently serves as board president.

For Your Consideration

Click here to learn more about this year's Academy inductees and the Indiana Academy itself.

Richard Ludwick

Message from ICI President & CEO Richard Ludwick

Independent Colleges of Indiana is sharing this informational update with you – as one of our stakeholders – to illustrate the performance and contributions of our 31 member colleges and universities and why they are the smart choice for students and for Indiana. We hope you find this information helpful in sharing that story with community leaders, colleagues, parents, students, and friends. If you have any questions or comments, please just let us know (contact information below).