Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) announced today the members of the third cohort of its ICI Leadership Academy (Academy). The year-long program specializes in the talent development needs of faculty and staff members of private college campuses.  

“As Indiana’s private colleges lean into the future, they must prepare emerging leaders at every level,” said Laura Bridges, vice president and COO at ICI. “In order to assist our campuses with leadership training and development in a cost-effective and easily accessible way, ICI has created an academy specializing in the talent development needs of private college campuses.”  

Each participant was identified by their sponsoring college as someone whose leadership will be critical to the future of the institution. Members of the third cohort include:  

  • Paula Blount, Director of Educational Support Services and Student Success, Anderson University 
  • Sarah Charles, Director of Annual Giving, Bethel University 
  • Daniel Meyers, Director, Center for Faith and Vocation, Butler University 
  • Catherine Lopez-Gonzalez, Assistant Professor Business Department, Program Director – Business Fast Track, Calumet College of St. Joseph
  • Sarah Summers, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Franklin College 
  • Rocio Diaz, Director for Community Engagement & Adult Outreach, Goshen College 
  • Liz Andes, Director of Health & Wellness and Title IX Deputy Coordinator, Goshen College 
  • Kelly Arney, Dean, Professor of Criminal Justice, Grace College  
  • Shelley Preocanin, Chief of Staff & Executive Assistant to the President, Trustee Board Liaison, Hanover College 
  • Becky Benjamin, Director of the Center for Teaching & Learning, Associate Professor of Psychology, Huntington University 
  • Jeff Lehman, Associate Dean of the Sciences, Professor of Computer Science, Huntington University  
  • Courtney Shull, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Indiana Tech 
  • Heather Twomey, Brembeck Associate Professor of Business and Dean of the Gilbert College of Business, Manchester University 
  • Jonathan Lowery, Assistant Provost for Research & Scholarship and Associate Professor of Physiology, Marian University 
  • Jennifer Plumlee, Assistant Vice President of Student Success and Engagement, Marian University 
  • John Girton, Vice President of Marketing, Communications, and External Relations, Martin University 
  • Kristie Johnson, Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Martin University 
  • JC Campbell, Vice President for Enrollment Management and Chief Diversity Officer, Oakland City University 
  • Megan Heyman, Associate Head of Mathematics and Associate Professor of Mathematics, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology  
  • Frankie Enochs, Associate Vice President for Institutional Technology, Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College 
  • Matt Renfrow, Co-Chair of Kinesiology Department and Faculty Past Moderator, Taylor University 
  • Francisco Ortiz, Vice President for Student Affairs, Trine University 
  • Bethany Huebner, Department Chair and Program Director, Physical Therapy and Associate Professor, University of Evansville 
  • Martha Lumley, Associate Dean Schroeder Family School of Business Administration and Assistant Professor, University of Evansville 
  • Kate DeCleene Huber, Associate Dean, College of Health Sciences, University of Indianapolis  
  • Charles Lamphier, Executive Director, office of Mission Engagement and Church Affairs, University of Notre Dame 
  • Rebekah Arevalo, Chief of Staff and Board Liaison, Valparaiso University 
  • Deondra Devitt, Executive Director of Human Resource Services, Valparaiso University 
  • Joe Klen, Associate Dean for Advancement, Wabash College 
  • Juli Smith, Director of Auxiliary and Insurance Services, Wabash College 

Over the course of the program, these aspiring leaders will gain understanding of their institution holistically, and within the context of the state and federal higher education landscape. Academy graduates are trained to view their college through multiple lenses (academic, financial, community involvement, and others) and to develop the leadership competencies needed for their institution’s and their own professional success. 

In October 2022, Deborah J. Daniels, JD, chair of the Indiana Academy Board of Regents and partner at Krieg DeVault LLP, announced on behalf of the Regents their financial support of the ICI Leadership Academy. You can view the video announcement here online. Founded in 1970, the Indiana Academy exists to promote the advancement of Indiana through the Academy’s support of the Independent Colleges of Indiana and its member institutions. 

“We are eager to launch our third cohort of the Leadership Academy extending this opportunity to even more leaders at our member institutions,” says Kurt D. Dykstra, president and CEO of ICI. “This exciting initiative is helping to shape our private colleges in Indiana through highly qualified and transformational leaders. We’re grateful for the financial support and the mission of the Indiana Academy to develop the leaders of tomorrow.”