Realizing the Dream 2022-2023

Congratulations to these Realizing the Dream Recipients! 

Realizing a dream takes commitment, hard work, and, most often, a helping hand from family and others. And that’s exactly what these students from Indiana’s 29 private, non-profit colleges and universities are celebrating. 

These students have realized the dream of being the first in their families to attend college, have been selected by their colleges for outstanding achievement in the freshman year, and are successfully advancing towards completing their bachelor’s degrees. Each recipient shares what it means to them to be a first-generation college student and gives thanks to an influential educator in the videos below.



Katelyn Quiroz


College: Anderson University

Most Influential Educator: William DeLisle, Hamilton Southeastern High School 

Austin Falk


College: Bethel University

Most Influential Educator: Michael Nolt, Northwood High School 

Iadlia Moreno

College:  Butler University

Most Influential Educator: Matt Payne, Avon High School 

April Mendoza


College: Calumet College of St. Joseph

Most Influential Educator: Lauren Nelson, Portage High School 

Stephanie Haynes


College: DePauw University

Most Influential Educator: Leta Sena-Lopez, Kahler Middle School 

Makaylah Castelow


College: Earlham College

Most Influential Educator: Kari Catanzaro, Maconaquah High School 

Amy Garrido Portillo


College: Franklin College

Most Influential Educator: Katie R. DeArmitt, Center Grove High School 

Brenton Hieu Pham


College: Goshen College

Most Influential Educator: Miriam Miller Avelar, Goshen High School 

Itsel Flores-uribe


College: Grace College

Most Influential Educator: Mayra Aguilar, Concord Community Schools 

Clara McCulley


College: Hanover College

Most Influential Educator: Hannah Oliver, Silver Creek High School 

Dion Payne-Miller


College: Holy Cross College

Most Influential Educator: Rick Ankney, Elkhart Community Schools 

Aaron Dolph


College: Huntington University

Most Influential Educator: Beth Davis, Elkhart Area Career Center 

Cameron Scott


College: Indiana Institute of Technology

Most Influential Educator: Pat Shifley, Bishop Luers High School 

Gabriella Hoover


College: Indiana Wesleyan University

Most Influential Educator: Jim “Umfundisi” Lo, Indiana Wesleyan University 

Erica Ortiz


College: Manchester University

Most Influential Educator: Gwen Mize, Manchester Jr. Sr. High School 

Chloe Delgado


College: Marian University

Most Influential Educator: Julie Hult, Columbus East High School 

Kiara Bailey


College: Martin University

Most Influential Educator: Stanley Law, George Washington High School 

Monesjia Harvey


College: Oakland City University

Most Influential Educator: Shirley Posey, Imhotep Institute Charter High School 

Elley Adkins


College: Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology

Most Influential Educator: Cindy Aubuchon, McCutcheon High School 

Rylee Williamson


College: Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College

Most Influential Educator: Christopher M. Todd, South Spencer High School 

Ruby Meza


College:  Saint Mary’s College

Most Influential Educator: Ana T. Acosta, Bishop Noll Institute 

Christina Veatch


College: Taylor University

Most Influential Educator: Megan Orcutt, Noblesville High School 

Bethany Morgan Schmitt


College: Trine University

Most Influential Educator: Emily Watkins, Trine University 

Ashtyn Baxter


College: University of Evansville

Most Influential Educator: Chasten Bear, Herron-Riverside High School 

Imelda Pozos


College: University of Indianapolis

Most Influential Educator: Lizzette Menendez, Frankfort High School 

Hayley Jie Brownd


College: University of Notre Dame

Most Influential Educator: Jason McGee, Crown Point High School 

Aye Aye Ma


College: University of St. Francis

Most Influential Educator: Pamela Cobb, East Allen Career Center 

Hannah Schoner


College: Valparaiso University

Most Influential Educator: Michael Tuholski, Laporte High School 

Jake Oostman


College: Wabash College

Most Influential Educator: Vincent Lewis, Crown Point Community School Corporation