State Awards 200 Scholarships to Future Indiana Teachers, includes 80 at ICI Campuses

The Indiana Commission for Higher Education has awarded 200 scholarships to the third class of Next Generation Hoosier Educators. This included 80 students from Independent Colleges of Indiana member institutions. The recipients, selected through a competitive process based on academic achievement and other factors, will receive $7,500 annually (up to $30,000 total) for committing to teach in Indiana for at least five years after graduating college.

“We are encouraged to see so many driven and prepared students applying for the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana.”

A total of 393 students applied for the 2019-20 Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, with applications coming from 212 high schools in 82 of the Indiana’s 92 counties. Over 80% of applicants were Indiana high school seniors with the remainder comprised of current college students.

“Teachers are the most significant driving force behind student success inside and outside the classroom,” said House Speaker Brian Bosma (R-Indianapolis), author of the legislation creating the scholarship. “This scholarship can help aspiring educators realize their dream of helping young Hoosiers and making a difference in their lives.”

To qualify for the scholarship, students had to either graduate in the highest 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. To continue earning the scholarship in college, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.

Students who received the scholarship for the 2019-20 academic year are listed by county here.

Learn more about the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship here.

# # #

About the Indiana Commission for Higher Education

The Indiana Commission for Higher Education is a 14-member public body created in 1971 to define the missions of Indiana’s colleges and universities, plan and coordinate the state’s postsecondary education system, and ensure that Indiana’s higher education system is aligned to meet the needs of students and the state. The Commission includes representatives from each Congressional district, three at-large members, a college faculty representative and a college student representative.

Learn more about the Commission’s Reaching Higher, Delivering Value strategic plan at here.


Jess Nejad